CHERRY MX LOW PROFILE RGB


Newly developed low-profile mechanical switch


CHERRY presents a newly developed mechanical keyboard switch: the MX Low Profile RGB has an unusually low height and is not just suitable for flat desktop applications, but for compact keyboards in notebooks as well. Despite its low-profile format, the new switch features all the favorite characteristics of the conventional CHERRY MX switches, including the company's exclusive high-precision and long-life Gold-Crosspoint technology. The first CHERRY MX Low Profile RGB switch on the market will be the Red variant.




Over 30 years ago, with the MX switch, CHERRY brought innovation to the field of mechanical keyboards, quickly establishing this technology as the market-leading standard. While the MX switch is still very popular today, the manufacturer has not rested on its success, putting a lot of time and dedication into the development of new solutions. The result of this hard work is the brand-new CHERRY MX Low Profile RGB, a switch combining the advantages of the conventional MX switch regarding actuation and characteristics with an unusually low height.



THE CHERRY MX LOW PROFILE RGB IN DETAIL


Since the CHERRY MX Low Profile RGB represents a completely new development and is particularly shallow, the dimensions are different from the conventional models. The overall height is reduced by just under 35 percent, resulting in dimensions of 11.9 x 15.0 x 15.0 mm (H x W x D). These make the CHERRY MX Low Profile RGB very compact. For comparison: a conventional MX switch measures 18.5 x 15.6 x 15.6 mm (H x W x D).




Thanks to its unique design the CHERRY MX Low Profile RGB can be used just as easily for mechanical keyboards in high-end notebooks as for unusually thin mechanical desktop keyboards. The new CHERRY switch was fully developed and built in Germany, its the "Made in Germany" seal representing the best product quality and the highest manufacturing precision.




TYPICAL CHARACTERISTICS AND GOLD-CROSSPOINT TECHNOLOGY


Despite its low height, the CHERRY MX Low Profile RGB offers the same perfect operation feeling that CHERRY's conventional switches have already established as a gold standard on the market. Although the actuation characteristics remain almost the same, the travel has been reduced from 4.0 to 3.2 millimeters. For a reliable operation, CHERRY has integrated its exclusive, high-precision and long-life Gold-Crosspoint technology. The contacts are self-cleaning and resistant to corrosion, with guarantees over 50 million keystrokes with no loss of quality. This also leads to a shorter bounce time for higher switching frequencies.


1 UPPER HOUSING 2 SWITCHING SLIDE / STEM 3 GOLD CROSSPOINT CONTACT 4 PRECISION COIL SPRING 5 HOUSING BASE

INSIDE CHERRY MX RED

1

UPPER HOUSING

Upper Housing is a CAD high precision component made of plastic polymer. With a tolerance of less than 0.01 mm, the component guides the switching slide precisely, forming the CHERRY MX keyswitch’s switching mechanism housing.

2

SWITCHING SLIDE / STEM

A CAD high-precision component made of plastic polymer specifically for the Cherry MX creates the pre travel and the keystroke feel between the upper housing and coil spring. The key cap is attached on the upper part of the stem.

3

GOLD CROSSPOINT CONTACT

Gold-based, the crosspoint contact is the heart of every CHERRY MX keyswitch and the basis of its incredible reliability and durability. With absolute precision, these triangular cross-contacts meet each other at precise right angles. This unique CHERRY innovation and ornate gold-plating make the electrical contact enclosure self-cleaning and gives the keyswitch permanent protection against corrosion, guaranteeing the keyswitch for more than 50 million operations.

4

PRECISION COIL SPRING

The keyswitch’s coil spring pressure resistance is the CHERRY MX’s sparring partner for your fingers. The high-density molecular structure of the spring’s metal alloy is calculated individually on the keyswitch and consistently optimized for the keyswitch’s specific pressure force.

5

HOUSING BASE

Dual-functional, the housing base component is made of plastic polymer and glass fibre. The inner part forms the mounting for the CHERRY MX keyswitch’s switching mechanism. The outer part is both the base and mounting surface for CHERRY’s mechanical keyboards.


HOUSING WITH OPTIMIZATION FOR LIGHTNING


The housing for the CHERRY MX Low Profile RGB is transparent and designed for use with SMD LEDs. These compact LEDs sit directly on the PCB to benefit the shallow design of the keyboard. The design of the housing is optimized to ensure a uniform illumination of the entire key cap and to represent all 16.8 million colors of the RGB spectrum accurately.


CHERRY MX LOW PROFILE RGB RED


The MX Low Profile RGB Red is the first variant that CHERRY will offer. It has the same properties as the regular MX Red variant, such as a linear switching characteristic and an actuation force of 45 centinewtons, making the MX Low Profile RGB Red perfectly suitable for gamers and fast typists.


MORE ABOUT CHERRY MX LOW PROFILE RGB RED

DESCRIPTION

The CHERRY MX Low Profile RGB Red has a very shallow profile and is specially designed for flat desktop applications as well as notebooks. The switch combines linear switching characteristics with a low actuation force. This makes it possible to trigger the switch quickly and smoothly

TECHNICAL DATA

Linear switching characteristics
45 cN operating force
1.2 mm pre travel
3.2 mm total travel
No audible click

ACTUATION GRAPH

CHERRY MX LOW PROFILE RGB

CHERRY MX LOW PROFILE RGB


NEUENTWICKELTER, HOCHPRÄZISER UND BESONDERS FLACHER SCHALTER


Mit dem MX Low Profile RGB präsentiert CHERRY einen komplett neuentwickelten Tastenschalter, der eine besonders geringe Bauhöhe aufweist und daher für flache Desktop-Applikationen sowie den platzsparenden Einsatz in Notebooks konzipiert ist. Trotz des kompakteren Formats bringt der neue Switch alle Features des Standard-Modells mit und weist somit die beliebte CHERRY MX-Charakteristik auf. Letzteres wird vor allem durch die hochpräzise und langlebige Gold-Crosspoint-Technologie sichergestellt. Zum Marktstart wird es den CHERRY MX Low Profile RGB in der Red-Version geben.




Vor über 30 Jahren präsentierte CHERRY mit dem MX-Switch eine Innovation im Bereich mechanischer Tastaturen und konnte damit den marktführenden Standard etablieren, der sich bis heute einer großen Beliebtheit erfreut. Allerdings ruht sich der Hersteller nicht auf den bisherigen Erfolgen aus und steckt viel Zeit sowie Engagement in die Entwicklung neuer Lösungen. Das Resultat dieser umfassenden Arbeit stellt der brandneue CHERRY MX Low Profile RGB dar. Dieser Schalter kombiniert die Vorzüge des Standard-Modells hinsichtlich Auslösung und Charakteristik mit einer äußerst geringen Bauhöhe.



DER CHERRY MX LOW PROFILE RGB IM DETAIL


Da der CHERRY MX Low Profile RGB eine komplette Neuentwicklung darstellt und besonders flach ausgeführt ist, unterscheiden sich auch die Abmessungen zum bisherigen Modell. Die Gesamtbauhöhe konnte um knapp 35 Prozent verringert werden. Daraus ergeben sich Maße von 11,9 x 15,0 x 15,0 Millimeter (H x B x T). Somit fällt der CHERRY MX Low Profile RGB sehr kompakt aus. Zum Vergleich: Der MX-Standard-Schalter misst 18,5 x 15,6 x 15,6 Millimeter (H x B x T).




Durch die spezielle Bauweise lassen sich besonders flache, mechanische Tastaturen für den Desktop-Einsatz entwerfen. Außerdem ist es damit möglich, absolute High-End-Keyboards platzsparend in Notebooks zu integrieren. Natürlich wurde der Switch von CHERRY komplett in Deutschland entwickelt und wird hierzulande auch gebaut. Das „Made in Germany“-Siegel steht dabei ganz klar für beste Produktqualität und höchste Fertigungspräzision.




TYPISCHE SCHALT-CHARAKTERISTIK UND GOLD-CROSSPOINT-TECHNOLGIE



Trotz der besonders geringen Bauhöhe bietet der CHERRY MX Low Profile RGB das unnachahmliche Tippgefühl, mit dem sich bereits die konventionellen Switches als Gold-Standard am Markt etablieren konnten. Obwohl die Auslösecharakteristik somit nahezu gleichbleibt, wurde der Gesamtweg des Stößels von 4,0 auf 3,2 Millimeter reduziert.

Für eine zuverlässige Auslösung hat CHERRY die weltexklusive, hochpräzise und langlebige Gold-Crosspoint-Technologie integriert. Die speziellen Gold-Kontaktpunkte sind selbstreinigend und unempfindlich gegenüber Korrosion. Dadurch garantiert CHERRY weit mehr als 50 Millionen Betätigungen bei gleichbleibender Auslösequalität.


1 GEHÄUSE-OBERTEIL 2 SCHALT-SCHLITTEN 3 GOLD-CROSSPOINT-KONTAKT 4 PRÄZISIONS-SPIRALFEDER 5 GEHÄUSE-UNTERTEIL

CHERRY MX LOW PROFILE IM DETAIL

1

GEHÄUSE-OBERTEIL

Ein CAD-Hochpräzisions-Bauteil aus Kunststoff-Polymer. Mit einer Toleranz von weniger als 0,01 Millimetern, führt es präzise den Schalt-Schlitten und bildet gleichzeitig die Aufnahme für die Schalt-Mechanik des CHERRY-MX-Moduls.

In der Version "MX RGB" ist die CHERRY-Refract-Technologie in das Bauteil integriert: Ein computerberechnetes Linsen-Set, das über aktive Lichtbrechung die Beleuchtung aus der SMD-LED auf der Platine verlustfrei in die Tastenkappe lenkt.

2

SCHALT-SCHLITTEN

Ein weiteres CAD-Hochpräzisions-Bauteil aus versionsspezifischem Kunststoff-Polymer, das im Zusammenspiel mit Gehäuse-Oberteil und Spiralfeder Widerstand und Tastgefühl erzeugt und auf das die Tasten-Kappe aufgesteckt wird.

3

GOLD-CROSSPOINT-KONTAKT

Das Herzstück eines jeden CHERRY-MX-Moduls sowie patentgeschützte Grundlage der unglaublichen Zuverlässigkeit und Haltbarkeit: Spezielle Dreieck-Kontakte treffen über Kreuz und in rechtem Winkel absolut präzise aufeinander. Durch diese weltweit einzigartige CHERRY-Innovation und durch die aufwändige Gold-Platierung stellen sie den elektrischen Kontaktschluss selbstreinigend und damit dauerhaft korrosionssicher her, garantiert über 50 Millionen Mal.

4

PRÄZISIONS-SPIRALFEDER

Als mechanisches Modul wird bei CHERRY MX der Druck-Widerstand von einer Präzisions-Spiralfeder erzeugt. Die hochdichte Molekül-Struktur der Metall-Legierung ist individuell auf die Modulcharakteristik berechnet und für den modulspezifischen Druckkraftaufwand dauerhaft gleichbleibend optimiert.

5

GEHÄUSE-UNTERTEIL

Doppelfunktionales Bauteil aus Kunststoff-Polymer. Im Innenteil bildet es die exakte Aufnahme für die Schalt-Mechanik des CHERRY-MX-Moduls. Im Außenteil ist es gleichzeitig Sockel und Auflagefläche für die Platinenmontage in mechanischen Keyboards. Das Gehäuseunterteil transluzent und hat eine Aussparung für die SMD-LED auf der Platine.


GEHÄUSE MIT OPTIMIERUNG FÜR BELEUCHTUNG


Der CHERRY MX Low Profile RGB basiert auf einem transparenten Gehäuse, das für die Nutzung mit SMD-LEDs konzipiert wurde. Die kompakten Leuchtdioden sitzen direkt auf dem PCB, was der flachen Bauweise der Tastatur zugutekommt. Das optimierte Gehäuse-Design des Low-Profile-Switches sorgt für eine gleichmäßigere Beleuchtung der gesamten Tastenkappe und erlaubt eine leuchtstarke Darstellung aller 16,8 Millionen Farben des RGB-Spektrums.


CHERRY MX LOW PROFILE RGB RED


Als erste Variante des neuen, flachen Switches bietet CHERRY den MX Low Profile RGB Red an, der die Eigenschaften des Standard-Modells aufweist. Dazu gehört die lineare Schaltcharakteristik und die benötigte Auslösekraft von 45 Zentinewton. Aufgrund der technischen Daten richtet sich der Switch an Gamer und Vielschreiber, die eine schnelle Tippfrequenz bevorzugen.



MEHR ZU CHERRY MX LOW PROFILE RGB RED

Beschreibung

Der CHERRY MX Low Profile RGB Red weist eine besonders geringe Bauhöhe auf und ist speziell für flache Desktop-Applikationen sowie Notebooks entwickelt worden. Der Switch vereint eine lineare Schaltcharakteristik mit geringem Federwiderstand. Dadurch ist eine reaktionsschnelle, sanfte Auslösung möglich.

Technische Daten

Lineare Schaltcharakteristik
45 cN Betätigungskraft
1,2 mm Vorlaufweg
3,2 mm Gesamtweg
Kein hörbarer Klick

Betätigungsgraph

CHERRY MX LOW PROFILE