CHERRY MX SWITCHES — DEVELOPER KIT AND INSTALLATION


Has it always been a wish of yours to own an individually customised keyboard, but you don’t know where to start? We have just the thing for you: our individual MX-switches are now available in different variants and as a special developer kit. This gives you the opportunity to design your own keyboard. Let your creativity run wild and build a keyboard that you won’t be able to find in stores! On this page, we’ll show you what you need, and what you need to know. Get your soldering iron out… ready, steady, go!

Are you a fan of the best mechanical switches on the market? Then this one is for you! Our MX-switches are now available for purchase in retail stores. Whether individually or in a set, you’ll have the choice between CHERRY MX Red, Black, Blue, Brown, Green, Clear, Silent Black, Silent Red, and Speed. These last two variants are now also available in the brand-new developer kit, which contains a full set of 110 switches. This lets you create your own keyboards in the extended layout – the only limit is your creativity! All you need to build your dream keyboard is a soldering iron, a PCB, and a keyboard case. 

Of course, it helps to know exactly which CHERRY MX switches you want to use for your keyboard. To help you with your choice, we’ve discussed switch properties first. 


THE MX SWITCH IN DETAIL


All available variants of the CHERRY MX switch are similar in shape and dimensions: the exact measurements are 18.5 x 15.6 x 15.6 mm (HxWxD).

Inside the housing you’ll find a plunger in one of the various colour codings, a matching spring for the necessary actuation force and last but not least, the Gold-Crosspoint contact mechanism. These high-quality components ensure more than 50 million actuations for a long-lasting, consistent typing experience.




CHERRY MX PRODUCT IDENTIFICATION

To select or identify the correct CHERRY MX switch, have a look at the article number for a comprehensive overview of design and variant. "MX" stands for the product itself. The third and fourth character identify the type of stem (i.e. "Standard" or "Silent”) and the type of contact. In the current portfolio of MX-switches you’ll only find two variants of these first four characters: MX1A (Standard MX switch) or MX3A (Silent MX switch).

You’ll find a lot more variation in the following four characters. The first digit is the most important one of them all: it describes the switch characteristics and basically tells you what stem colour is used. The follow-up digit is not relevant for end users; it represents the key stem configuration and is ‘1’ for every existing switch to date. The last two characters of the article number provide information about the LED, diode, housing and pins. For a complete overview, check out this following graphic.


DOWNLOAD GRAPHIC





CHERRY MX SWITCH VERSIONS


CHERRY MX switches are available in different versions and can be fastened in a variety of ways. The last character of the article number shows you there are two different mounting mechanisms you can choose from. Switches ending with ‘A’ or ‘N’ are mounted directly on the keyboard housing (no additional mounting pins are implemented), while switches ending with ‘B’ or ‘W’ should be mounted directly to the PCB. That’s why these switches have mounting pins on the bottom of the switch housing. With this method, CHERRY MX switches can be mounted quasi-freestanding on the PCB, resulting in a unique look. However, we do advise you to stabilize the PCB to a robust backplate.

Apart from the mounting method, CHERRY produces switch casings in three different versions. The main difference is in whether or not a LED or diode is integrated. Occasionally, MX switches used in partner products or in CHERRY’s own MX-Board series are equipped with LEDs (indicated by ‘R’, ‘G’, or ‘Y’). These versions will not be available in retail. The same applies to the versions with a diode (‘D’ or ‘J’), which are very seldom used by CHERRY itself, but could theoretically be used to achieve anti-ghosting without an additional chip on the PCB. The most common switch is the version without LED or diode (indicated by an ‘N’). This is also the version you will find in the developer kit sold by Reichelt.de. Currently, only switches without mounting pins (requiring a mount to the keyboard housing) are offered online. Versions with a direct mount for the PCB are only available from CHERRY itself.

For the aforementioned versions of the Cherry MX switches, different holes are required on the PCB. The following stencils show the correct dimensions and spacing of the holer.


SWITCH WITHOUT MOUNTING PINS 
Mount in keyboard housing



SWITCH WITH MOUNTING PINS
Direct mount on PCB





AVAILABILITY OF CHERRY MX SWITCHES

The Developer Kit and individual switches are globally available from Reichelt.de


Reichelt



Individual CHERRY MX switches can be also bought online from Arrow Electronics or Greendich Enterprise. These include the switch versions MX Red, Black, Blue, Brown, Speed, Silent, Green, and Clear.


Arrow

Greendich



CHERRY MX TECHNOLOGIES

CHERRY MX SWITCH — TASTATUR-ENTWICKLER INFORMATION


Eine individuelle Tastatur nach Maß gehört zu Euren Wünschen, die Ihr euch bisher noch nicht erfüllen konntet? Dann haben wir genau das Richtige für Euch: Unsere MX-Switches sind nun einzeln in verschiedenen Varianten und im speziellen Set als Developer-Kit erhältlich. Damit habt Ihr die Möglichkeit euer eigenes Keyboard zu designen. Lasst Eurer Kreativität freien Lauf und baut eine Tastatur, die es so nicht im Handel zu kaufen gibt. Was Ihr dazu benötigt und worauf Ihr dabei achten müsst, erfahrt Ihr auf dieser Seite. An die Lötkolben, fertig, los!

Enthusiasten und Fans der besten mechanischen Schalter am Markt aufgepasst! Unsere MX Switches stehen ab sofort im Einzelhandel zum Kauf bereit. Egal ob einzeln, oder im Set – Ihr habt die Wahl zwischen CHERRY MX Red, Black, Blue, Brown, Green, Clear, Silent Black, Silent Red und Speed. Die Letzten beiden Ausführungen gibt es außerdem im brandneuen Developer-Kit, das 110 Schalter enthält. Damit lassen sich selbst ausladende Keyboards im Extended-Layout umsetzen. Eurer Kreativität ist dabei kaum Grenzen gesetzt. Alles was Ihr dazu braucht, um eure Traum-Tastatur zu verwirklichen, ist ein Lötkolben, ein PCB und ein Tastaturgehäuse.  

Natürlich solltet Ihr auch genau wissen, welchen CHERRY MX-Switch Ihr einsetzen müsst. Die Details dazu findet Ihr in den folgenden Absätzen.  



DER MX-SWITCH IM DETAIL


Alle erhältlichen Varianten des CHERRY MX-Switches gleichen sich in der Form und den Abmessungen. So misst ein Schalter in der Basis 18,5 x 15,6 x 15,6 Millimeter (H x B x T).

Im Inneren des Gehäuses stecken der Stößel in den verschiedenen Farbencodierungen, eine entsprechend ausgelegte Feder für die nötige Betätigungskraft und letztlich die Gold-Crosspoint-Kontakt-Mechanik. Diese hochwertig verarbeiteten Komponenten sorgen für eine dauerhaft gleichbleibende Auslösequalität bei weit mehr als 50 Millionen Betätigungen.




CHERRY MX-NUMMERNSCHLÜSSEL

Um den richtigen CHERRY MX-Switch selektieren oder identifizieren zu können, genügt ein Blick auf den Nummernschlüssel. Dieser gibt einen umfassenden Überblick über Bauform und Ausführung. „MX“ steht hierbei für das Produkt selbst. Die Art des Stößels – also „Standard“ oder „Silent“ – zeigt die dritte Ziffer. Der nachfolgende Buchstabe steht für den Kontakt.

Das aktuelle Portfolio an CHERRY MX-Schaltern erlaubt daher nur zwei Varianten der ersten vier Stellen des Nummernschlüssels: MX1A oder MX3A. Deutlich mehr Variationen sind bei den darauffolgenden vier Stellen zu finden. Wichtig ist vor allem das erste Zeichen. Dort wird die Schaltcharakteristik dargestellt und somit erläutert, welcher Stößel verbaut ist. Die Folgeziffer ist für den Endkunden nicht relevant, da hier lediglich die Tastenkopfaufnahme dargestellt ist. In der Regel wird nur die Standard-Version angeboten. Die beiden letzten Stellen des Nummernschlüssels geben Aufschluss über LED, Diode, Gehäuse und Pins. Die folgende Grafik zeigt al.le Varianten im Detail


GRAFIK HERUNTERLADEN





AUSFÜHRUNGEN DER CHERRY MX-SWITCHES


Die CHERRY MX-Switches sind in verschiedenen Ausführungen erhältlich und lassen sich so auf unterschiedliche Art befestigen. Zwei Variationen stehen zur Auswahl: Zum einen ist die Fixierung direkt am Tastaturgehäuse möglich. Dabei bringt der Switch keine zusätzlichen Montage-Pins mit. Zum anderen kann der Schalter direkt auf dem PCB befestigt werden. Dazu sind Montage-Pins an der Unterseite des Switch-Gehäuses zu finden. Mit dieser Methode lassen sich die CHERRY MX-Schalter quasi freistehend auf der Platine montieren, was zu einer sehr individuellen Optik führt. Allerdings ist zur Stabilisierung des PCBs zu einer robusten Backplate zu raten.

Daneben werden die CHERRY MX-Switches in drei weiteren Konfigurationen angeboten. Die Unterschiede liegen im Prinzip darin, ob eine LED oder Diode integriert ist. Die gängigste davon ist die Variante ohne die beiden genannten Bestandteile. In dieser Form sind die Schalter bei Reichelt.de zu erwerben und im Developer-Kit enthalten. Im freien Verkauf werden zudem nur die Ausführungen ohne Montage-Pins angeboten, was eine Fixierung über das Tastaturgehäuse voraussetzt. Von CHERRY selbst sind aber auch Varianten für die direkte Montage auf dem PCB erhältlich. Zusätzlich werden auch MX-Schalter mit LED gefertigt, die in der Regel bei den eigenen MX-Boards oder in Partner-Produkten zum Einsatz kommen. Im Einzelhandel sind diese Versionen nicht verfügbar. Selbiges gilt für die Ausführungen mit Diode, die sehr selten von CHERRY selbst genutzt werden. Allerdings lässt sich mit dieser Art von CHERRY MX-Schaltern Anti-Ghosting ohne zusätzlichen, technischen Aufwand oder einen Zusatzchip auf dem PCB umsetzen.

Für die genannten Ausführungen der CHERRY MX Switches werden unterschiedliche Bohrungen auf dem PCB benötigt. Die folgenden Schablonen zeigen die korrekten Maße und Abstände der Löcher.


SCHABLONE FÜR SWITCH OHNE MONTAGE-PINS
Fixierung über Tastaturgehäuse



SCHABLONE FÜR SWITCH MIT MONTAGE-PINS 
Direkte Fixierung auf dem PCB





BEZUGSQUELLEN DER CHERRY MX SWITCHES

Das Developer-Kit wird von Reichelt.de global vertrieben. In diesem Onlineshop sind auch die CHERRY MX Switches einzeln erhältlich.


Reichelt



Einzelne Schalter sind außerdem bei Arrow Electronics sowie Greendich Enterprise erhältlich. Dabei stehen CHERRY MX Red, Black, Blue, Brown, Speed, Silent, Green und Clear zur Auswahl.


Arrow

Greendich



CHERRY MX TECHNOLOGIES